a lot of places in the world rely on tourism as a main source of income. Describe the advantages and disadvantages of tourism industry.

Nowadays, the tourism industry plays a fundamental role in the global economy. Many countries' economies are based on tourism as a principal business. In the essay I will examine the advantages and the disadvantages of this industry and I will also provide some examples. On the one hand, tourism is an amazing industry that brings several advantages to countries visited and to tourists too. Firstly, it can improve the local economy of an area, because tourists will use local services like bike renting, eating in local restaurants and buying some souvenirs, and all of these actions contribute to increasing job opportunities for locals. Secondly, by the meeting between tourists and locals, it is possible to spread knowledge and different cultures, because each party can learn from the other one. For instance, when someone decides to visit remote Africa, he brings knowledge to local people who live in the third world and this can help them to build a better community, by using this new information. On the other hand, tourism has two main disadvantages: environmental problems and disrespect towards local populations. To begin with, many studies report that when a destination starts to become popular among travellers, it starts his decline. This is due to the fact that, tourists can be a serious problem for local environments, because they create more garbage and ruins attractions. For instance, in order to fix this situation, Venezia, the famous Italian city, started to apply a maximum number of visitors per day, and by doing that, it can control better the actions of tourists. In addition, visitors in many cases do not respect locals, this happens often when it comes to rural areas in Africa, Asia or South America, where people have completely different traditions from the rest of the world. Many times, visitors do not understand these differences and they end up acting in a disrespectful way. To conclude, despite the tourism industry can bring some disadvantages like pollution and problems among tourists and native individuals, in my opinion the advantages outweigh the disadvantages because this industry is one of the biggest in the world and every year give the opportunity to work for millions of people and also because it allows the meeting among different cultures.