The government should control the amount of violence in films and on television in order to decrease violent crimes in society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that crime is increasing at an alarming rate in modern society, and some people believe government should limit violence in movies and dramas. In my opinion, i strongly disagree with this suggestion, because the violence in TV production is not the main reason causing crime, the government should put their effort into addressing other rationales of crime. On the one hand, if government strictly ban violent behaviour in movies and TV, it will actually cause some problems. First of all, the freedom and creativity of directors will be threatened by this regulation, and movies might be not interesting and attractive because of it. For example, in China, the government has strict regulations about the movie industry, thus the subjects of Chinese movies are monotonous and unable to win any international film awards. In addition, movies and television with some violent factors that might happen in reality make public aware of the challenges that we are facing in society. For example, a Korean called hope is telling a story that a little girl being sexually assaulted by an adult, and this movie lets the public realize the importance of sexual education to children and also helped Korea improve its law about teenage protection. On the other hand, the government should endeavour to solve more important crises that are the underlying reasons for crime which is poverty and illiteracy. If these two problems didn't tackle and become more serious in the future the crime rate will continuously increase. Government should prioritise solving these two problems and take some actions like providing more job opportunities and equal access to education for everyone. In this way, with the productive and well-educated public, fewer people will choose to commit a crime, and the situation will be improved a lot. In conclusion, watching comedies does not transform someone into a comedian and watching violence doesn't directly make someone a criminal. I believe instead of controlling the development of the film and TV industry, the government should try its best to tackle poverty and the education problems.