As well as making money, businesses also have social responsibilities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the eyes of some, businesses are not only economic units; rather, they should shoulder social responsibilities. I totally agree with this viewpoint as when doing so, businesses are indeed investing in their sustainable development. In the short term, shouldering social responsibilities, say social and environmental ones, could buy businesses opportunities to gain profits in return. When fulfilling their tax obligations, businesses can improve their financial credit scores. This is because they can prove that their tax records are clean, thereby buying businesses opportunities to approach low-interest loans and raise funds more effectively. Thus, businesses can take this advantage of competitiveness over their rivals and gain more profits. Also, adopting manufacturing practices that minimize environmental damage is financially beneficial for businesses. This strategy enables businesses to avoid huge environmental taxes and protects them from boycotting campaigns of environmental activists. In the long term, this strategy could bring both sustainable profits and new customers. When taking social responsibilities, say philanthropic activities, means an investment in expanding the future's market. An explanation for this argument is when helping impoverished people escape ingrained poverty and have a higher standard of living, businesses are creating potential customers in the future, and in turn, selling more products to these new generations of customers. Furthermore, this strategy helps businesses draw new customers. In fact, when taking public responsibilities, businesses could establish a picture of themselves as economic units not only generating wealth but also accompanying society in reaching common goals and solving challenges. This helps build trust and bonds between businesses and the community and new customers will come later. In conclusion, although businesses are economic units generating wealth, they should shoulder social responsibilities because this is a sapient investment in their sustainable development.