Nowadays, many people prefer to seek medical advice on the Internet instead of seeing a qualified doctor. What are the reasons for this? Is it a positive or a negative development?

With soaring development of informantion technology, the internet plays an important role in our daily lives. As a result, some people prefer to search for medical advice online, while other believe it is unhelpful to gain such information on the internet. In my opinion, providing general public with trustworthy medical suggestion online will be beneficial to improve the quilty of the whole medical care system. On the one hand, it is sure ture that there are a plenty of online platforms that provide medical advice, most of them are not written by professional doctors. Therefore there are high posibility of spreading mis-leading information. And if a patient receive the incorrect information and follow the worng treatment, it would bring some side effects or even escalate the problem. For instance, removing a wrat write at home, it might lead a serious infection, excessive bleeding and another medical emergency. When problems like these happened, no one could held accountable for the risks but the patients themselves. On the other hand, owning to the internet, the public is well aware of most common medical disorders and preventive measures. A rational and prudent individual should have the ability to decide whether to get professional diagosis in hospital or handle it at home. And if the patients with wild diseases could solve it by themselves instead of going to hospital, it would reduce the workload of doctors so that doctors can help other patients in real needs. Besides, if patients have some basic knowledge of their current situation, which will have them make better decisions. For example, when it comes to choosing the best hopital and doctor to give them the most effective treatment. In conclusion, I believe it is positive for the whole healthcare development if the patients can receive reseaonable and useful medical advice for the internet.