Some people believe that non-academic subjects at school should be removed from the syllabus so that children can concentrate wholly on academic subjects. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Whether you like it or not, non-academic subjects like Music and Art are in the syllabus. I am going to discuss the advantages and the disadvantages of having non-academic classes in the syllabus and give my opinion on the dilemma which is non-academic subjects. On the bright side, having non-academic classes actually help students concentrate. Studies show that creating art stimulates the release of dopamine which is a chemical which is released when we do something pleasurable, and it basically makes us feel happier. Increased levels of this feel-good neurotransmitter can be very helpful if you are battling anxiety or depression. For instance, a student can stress over an upcoming exam and art could help him calm down. Also, upbeat music can make you feel more optimistic and positive about life. A slower tempo can quiet your mind and relax your muscles, making you feel soothed while releasing the stress of the day. Melodies are effective for relaxation and stress management. So, overall non-academic subjects benefit students in school. For instance, a student can stumble across problems that are hard to solve and calming melodies can help him find the solution. On the dark side, it can actually hurt one's chance of getting a good enough GPA to enter one's expected university. This is a problem that some people, mostly parents, are worried about. For instance, a student could do terribly in the topics and could get terrible grades that would affect the overall GPA. In conclusion, there are good arguments for both sides of the fence but I disagree as the arguments for the latter side are stronger. There is an extent, though, and that extent is that the classes don't count as a grade and don't affect the overall GPA.