Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now "one big traffic jam" How true do you think this statement is? what measures can governments take to discourage people from using their cars?

The number of private owners has drastically increased over the last thirty years, as a result, of the rapid increase in movement jams. I completely agree with the given statement that this is the main reason for gridlock. However, it can be reduced by providing awareness to society to start using public shipment and also by increasing taxes on private motors. To begin with, I strongly believe that increase in privately owned cars is the reason for traffic jams in the cities. Most of the families in the metropolitan area are commuting to their workplaces by their own cars instead of taking public transport. Hence, the number of cars moving on the roads becomes high which causes traffic congestion. Moreover, polluting chemicals from cars impact an individual's health. On the other hand, the country should conduct awareness programs to use public shipment and, improve bus facilities by adding extra seats. In fact, frequent buses every 5 mins in a row can make people think of utilizing government transport. The other solution is that expanding taxes on private vehicles will gradually reduce buying a new car as people cannot afford it. For instance, in the U.S.A, after increasing the taxes on private cars, the public is unable to afford them and started using public transport. In conclusion, Traffic congestion is increasing due to a huge number of privately owned vehicles. It can be resolved by encouraging folks to use government vehicles, increasing public transportation facilities and imposing more tariffs on private shipments.