Some argue that patriotism is the primary cause of wars globally. Others feel that it serves to prevent less ethical politicians from running a country and starting wars. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Few people proclaim that international wars are predominantly bound to happen due to the nationalism of an individual, whereas others perceive that it assists in eradicating unethical political bodies from ruling a state and provoking warfare. In my opinion, I support the latter argument because I believe nationalism is an utmost attribute that an individual must possess to serve their own nation better. On the one hand, patriotism helps a person in serving the country better by putting the state's interests in front of one's personal interests. Consequently, under certain circumstances, few decisions must be made to protect national integrity from external countries. For example, during the recent war, when Russia attacked Ukraine, the Ukrainian president had no other choice than to retaliate and counter them in the battle. So, he made a decision to fight against the Russian army in order to protect the geographical boundaries of his nation. Therefore, situations could potentially lead even a patriotic person to make such emotional decisions because of not trying to negotiate in the early stages of a conflict even before when the war has begun. On the other hand, a nationalist would always be proud of his or her own country and be always loyal to his duties which helps to administrate the state affairs without self-interests and partiality by keeping in mind the repercussions of each decision that has to be made. For instance, when there is a conflict between two nations, a true patriot ruler who is running the government would usually try to solve it by negotiating and reducing the ramifications of it. However, an unpatriotic human being would just consider the situation as a personal thing and make a verdict accordingly. In conclusion, every human being must contain patriotic qualities in order to serve and make their own place better in all terms. I firmly believe it is not nationalism itself leading to international warfare, in fact, few ruling authorities who lack administration capabilities make determinations that lead to such catastrophic wars harming millions of citizens.