Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organization. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

It is no doubt that the economy plays a critical role in the civilization of human beings. Money is definitely the essential element either for a group of people or an individual to sustain their lives. In contemporary society, many people are keen to work by themselves rather than accept the well-paid occupation in enterprises. In this essay, I will detail the triggers and the demerits of this situation in the following paragraphs. First of all, there is much less freedom working in a big organization. Considering the specialized domains of the companies, workers there are not allowed to choose which tasks they could receive based on their preferences. In the USA, there has seen a significant increase in the number of self-employed software engineers due to their desire to choose projects based on habits and favourites. Moreover, pressure and disease might be derived from the supervisors. Technology-related industries are salient examples. Owing to their rapid pace of development, employees are required to be effective and productive. However, due to undertaking tremendous stress, they would burn the midnight oil so as to keep the progress on time which might harm their mental and physical health conditions. Based on such attractive reasons, an increasing number of individuals self-employed can be expected. At the other end of the spectrum, it is undeniable that constant work opportunities are not secured for freelancers. That is, the willingness of organizations to provide collaborative tasks depends on whether someone is eminent or reputable in his specialized area. In consideration of this situation, those who work by themselves may not be able to have stable incomes. Furthermore, the self-employed are not able to take advantage of the insurance. In Taiwan, firms and corporations are stipulated to ensure all the employees, which could be helpful assistance when severe damage or crises occur to the workers. That is, freelancers are not qualified to participate in welfare during facing difficulties happening to their jobs. To sum up, although someone being self-employed can enjoy much more liberty in comparison to those working in organizations, there are still some latent crises that should not be ignored. Personally, I am inclined to stand with accepting the offer from huge corporations considering the steady income and sound insurance systems.