Personal information of many individuals is held by large internet companies and organisations. Do you think the advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvantages?

It is claimed that reputable internet companies are carrying large amounts of personal data from their customers. In my view, although this phenomenon has a number of benefits, some drawbacks can be named without any outweigh. There are a number of merits regarding the personal information that companies have about customers. By having a vast amount of data, companies can benefit from hindsight when they want to provide services for their consumers. To clarify, they can calculate the required amount of data usage and the number of people who use their services. Hence, companies can expand their services related to what they need. Yet another reason is that this amount of data can be used for other companies to advertise their products more accurately through the tastes and interests of customers. Citizens who are enthusiastic about items of clothing; for example, can benefit from the intelligence advertisements of related manufacturers in their emails. On the other hand, people not only feel insecure about passing their personal information to internet companies but also they might be afraid of cyber fraud. If a company cannot preserve those data safely and securely, cyber fraud may happen even with the staff of organizations who have access to the information. For instance, this private information may be used to have people trust a fraud to pass the information of their bank account. In addition, these days, people are aware of a large amount of news about hackers who penetrate through the database of popular websites or organizations and steal the personal information of people. Consequently, the number of people who do not trust companies with the request for personal information is increasing. In summary, I believe that holding many individuals' information by internet companies has merits and drawbacks at the same time with no outweigh.