Some people think that the main factor influencing a child’s development these days are things such as tv, friends and music. Others believe that the family still remains more important. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

During the early stages of one's development, every interaction can influence their physical and mental development. A vast number of people are convinced that television, music or even friends constitute the prominent factor that affects a kid's growth. Others argue that the immediate family has the greatest influential role. Personally, I support the latter, with the former undeniably having positive attributes as well. To begin with, a baby will spend its formative years with its parents. Consequently, the environment that is obtained in a household is crucial for its stability. For instance, children that grow up with divorced parents or in situations where the guardians face some hardships in life, such as financial difficulties, end up having trouble keeping up at school and in extreme cases some of them might even get diagnosed with psychiatric disorders, like ADHD. Another example, especially during the first months of an infant's life, is when the mother breastfeeds them. Thus, they create a special bond like no other and this affection has proven to provide the newborn with a sense of stability and safety that will remain for the rest of their life. On the opposite side, the media and relatives as well as classmates and neighbours are undoubtedly influential. It is not always our choice to decide who interacts with our children, and in recent years the amount of time they spend on social media has dramatically increased. As a result, all sorts of information is thrown directly on them, making them believe they should act a certain way in order to feel accepted. What's more, a large number of TV programmes idolize famous actors and singers, leading to a constant feeling of unworthiness. To provide an example, a new channel has been formed that focuses entirely on fashion. It is with no doubt that adolescents try to imitate skinny models and therefore, eating disorders are nowadays more common than they ever were. All things considered, what develops a human being cannot be defined, and no one can argue that every conversation and encounter someone has will affect their personality, sometimes more than it should. Personally, I believe that the ones that you grow up with have the most impact on your life since if you have a healthy relationship with them, you will not feel the need to seek acceptance from others and you will embrace yourself just the way you are.