Some education systems make students focus on certain subjects at the age of 15, while others require students to study a wide range of subjects until they leave school. What are the benefits of each system? Which is better?

It is undeniable that the question of whether students should specialize or get a wide range of knowledge remains a source of controversy in different education systems across the world. While both the former and the latter have positive aspects, I firmly believe that school students should obtain a broad education. On the one hand, if students concentrate on particular subjects at the age of 15, then they will be able to cover a lot of ground in those subject areas. For instance, if students at this age study only mathematics and sciences, they will be able to spend all of their school days on these lessons. They will not have any distractions from studying languages or arts. Young students will have a good grasp of their chosen fields of study and will therefore be well-equipped to put the knowledge that they have acquired into practice. This system thus provides students with good preparation before they pursue their speciality in higher education or improves their job prospects when they leave school. On the other hand, I favour a system in which pupils study a wide variety of disciplines throughout their years at school. I would argue that achieving a comprehensive education is one of the milestones in life. That is to say, the abilities of students to integrate cognitive, psychomotor and behavioural domains through a process of broad learning in all aspects of life. Take such subjects as literature, philosophy, and history as examples. Schools must encourage their youngsters beyond the age of 15 to be interested in these subjects. Furthermore, by learning a different range of subjects, students have a chance to work on other necessary social skills, develop critical and analytical thinking, and are incentive to be creative. In conclusion, although at the age of 15 students may be better prepared for work by focusing on only a few subjects, studying a wide range of subjects prepares them for life.