People are annoyed or entertained by advertising, but they are not affected by advertisements when making shopping decisions. To what extent you agree or disagree?

Many believe that advertising does not influence actual buying decisions. In my opinion, though this may be true in the majority of instances, advertising is nonetheless extremely effective. Those who feel that advertising serves little useful purpose can point to the most typical response from consumers. Whether they are on the internet, on television, or in real life, most individuals endeavour to skip or ignore ads. There are only isolated cases when a shopper will see an ad and as a direct result make a purchase. For example, YouTube advertisements have included a feature to “skip ads” that has become an automatic response from nearly every viewer. Even when forced to watch ads, such as in the cinema before a film starts, consumers are unlikely to remember the products or services and there is a strong chance they will take out their phones to completely shut out distracting commercials. Nonetheless, advertisements have a limited yet powerful efficacy. The strongest evidence for this comes from the enduring health of the advertising industry. This flourishing is because advertisements only need to yield results occasionally in order to be successful. For example, a fast food company such as McDonald’s or KFC might run an advertisement with the profitable expectation of only converting 1% of viewers, accepting the 99% failure rate as part of the business. Moreover, the 1% who make an immediate purchase is only one piece of the overall strategy. Advertising raises brand awareness and may lead to later consumption and even have a subliminal effect that is difficult to trace. In conclusion, advertising is not designed to be effective at all times but instead to slowly influence and achieve the occasional success. In the aggregate, it is worthwhile for corporations to advertise even if the most common outcome is to be ignored.