In certain countries, the number of people who use bicycles as the main means of transport is reducing even though it is beneficial both physically and environmentally. What can be the reasons for this change in preference? How can people be encouraged to use bicycles? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Around the world, technological advancements in cars and bikes have increased the number of sales drastically over the period of a few years. In certain countries, the number of people who use bicycles to commute is decreasing. In this essay, I will present my views on the reasons for the change in preference and how people could be encouraged. To begin with, bicycles should be considered as the main means of transport as it keeps an individual fit and it is also environmentally friendly. For instance, Bangalore an IT hub of India where pollution and traffic problems that are the worst among all the cities in the world. Bicycles can be used by employees to commute to the offices to reduce pollution and curb traffic problems. The separate bicycle lanes can be utilized to reach the office before logging time. Furthermore, Government should build more bicycle lanes and encourage people to use bicycles during peak hours. On the downside, the change in preference is because of changes in the living standard of the people. People switch to cars by bicycle easily as it is very convenient to commute in cars. For instance, people are ready to spend their life savings to buy a new car and bear the maintenance cost as well because it is a more comfortable and convenient way to commute long distances. Additionally, separate bicycle lanes are not enough on roads and the ones which can be utilized to commute are in poor condition. To conclude, the preference for using a four-wheeler over bicycles can be heavily observed in many countries. Government should build more lanes and encourage people to use bicycles,especially in the metro cities to reverse the change of preference.