As the number of cars increases, more money has to be spent on road systems. Some people think the government should pay for this. Others, however, think that the drivers should cover the costs. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Nowadays, road systems have become more and more important in the modern world due to the increasing number of cars. Some people think that government should take responsibility for the road system, however other people think that drivers should pay for the cost. My view is that government should pay for the road systems and the drivers should pay for the maintenance. On the one hand, it is obvious that only the official department has enough money to build a road system all over the country. This is because the government get taxes from citizens and some other business and the government has the right to use taxes to build roads for the country. Moreover, Only the government has resources to build a good transport network around the country. For example, the government can do full research and plan better road systems for the next 100 years, which is impossible for individuals. Therefore, from my point of view, the government should pay for the rest of the road systems. On the other hand, drivers have no responsibility to cover the costs. Drivers already pay a lot of different taxes before they used the road. For instance, drivers need to pay a transfer fee when they build a car and an oil tax when they fill in petrol. So drivers should not spend anything on building a new road. However, I believe that the government has the right to ask drivers to pay for some parts of the highway due to maintenance fees. In conclusion, governments need to make sure that money has been used correctly to build a good transport network for citizens.