In many countries, the proportion of older people is steadily increasing. Does this trend have more positive or negative effects on the society?

Thanks to developed medical areas, the number of senior citizens has become bigger with increasing the portion of the population. This phenomenon could have bad impacts on society, in my opinion, in terms of delaying the development of the country and giving pressure on younger generations. When senior citizens account for a huge portion of society, the speed of advancing the country would be slower than in the past. In society, human resources might be essential to be developed, especially those who have more creative thoughts and can do labour. However, people might think that seniors are less creative than the younger generation and also would stick with their thoughts even though they have more experience. The companies, then, would struggle with recruiting workers and raising potential employees. This trend can link to a fixed society without development in the long term. This phenomenon also has an effect on the younger generation because they feel pressure to support old citizens. Most countries spend the budget for seniors such as free medical checks or lower transmission fees. Those budgets may come from the taxes of social members who do work. Hence, society would raise the tax on workers, as the number of the old population increases. In other words, young people might pay the increased taxes which account for the vast majority of income. They could feel more pressure to support the old. In conclusion, society tends to have an increasing number of senior citizens, which can cause negative effects on society. This is because society finds it hard to have human resources to be advanced and this trend would put pressure on the younger generation in terms of increasing taxes.