Some people think that newly built houses should follow the style of the old houses in the local areas, while others think that people should have freedom to build houses of their own styles. Discuss both views and give your own opinion?

It is true that people often have opposing views about whether new houses should imitate the style of the old ones in the local region or be built with an utterly new style. While there are some benefits of building consistently old- style houses, from my own standpoint, I lean towards the latter idea of building new houses differently. On the one hand, it is obvious that a row of old- style houses brings a certain number of advantages to the local area. First, the erection of new houses having the same style as the old ones contributes to the architectural identity of a town, which would help develop the local tourism industry. Second, maintaining the old style also allows local people to preserve their cultural heritage. A typical example of this view is Hoi An old village which is renowned for rows of yellow-painted and tile-roof houses, generating a unique architectural style. Such ancient patterns not only keep cultural values enduring with the locals to this day but also boost the development of the tourism industry which seems to bring a huge amount of money to both local authorities and residents. On the other hand, other people support the idea of building new- style houses. The apparent merit of this idea is that constructing houses with different new styles would satisfy people ’s imagination and creativity. Indeed, the public has their own preferences for house design. For example, while some people are in favour of the Mediterranean design attaching great importance to the features of refreshment and harmony with nature, others may prefer a warm atmosphere created by wooden walls, furniture and ornaments. Furthermore, construction costs paid for new-design houses are more likely to be less than those of old-design ones that would require regular maintenance to keep ancient patterns unchanged with time. In conclusion, although both new-design houses and old-design ones have their own advantages, I still keep my view that inhabitants should be encouraged to build houses following their own choices of style.