Many people believe that today there is a general increase in anti-social behavior and lack of respect for others. What might have caused this situation? How to improve it?

Among all the concerns brought by technological and social advancements, perhaps the most troubling one is moral degeneration. Various factors contributing to this phenomenon will be explored first in this essay followed by measures aiming at reversing this trend. It is apparent that social media and the internet have helped the dissemination of misdeeds and discontent hazardous to society. Resentful expressions abound on the internet in form of video clips or posts, encouraging people to take extreme actions to solve problems and thus foment discord. However, this is not the worst offender of the social order. What really perverts people might be the profound despair felt when people are confronted with difficulties endangering their existence but far beyond their own capacities. To illustrate, it was those who are destitute and feel hopeless will be longing for social unrest because it seems promising to them that wealth and social status might be redistributed through the reconstruction of order. Therefore, these people are the real culprit in the increase in anti-social behaviour and lack of respect for others. To solve the aforementioned problems, clear regulations and a strict scrutiny system for the internet community must be established, so that no one could post anything or comment haphazardly online. Due promotion is also needed to inform people of the potential risks of their behaviours. More importantly, the government need also to find ways such as free education and financial aid to help disadvantaged residents. When fewer people are made crippled by the current social security and insurance system, there will be fewer incivilities too. Last but not least, the legal system should be perfected to a level where no one dares to disturb social order to maintain public decency. In conclusion, there are both internal and external factors impacting the overall harmony of a society. The government could start by tackling the systematic issues that are currently hampering people ’s well-being, and thus the root cause of crime will be mitigated. Besides, some regulatory and legal aid will also be practical in the preservation of courtesy and manner.