A number of tertiary courses require students to undertake a period of unpaid work at companies or organisation as part of their programme. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this type of course requirement?

Some regional courses asked students to take internships at companies or organisations as one of the requirements to fulfil their curriculum. The essay will explain both advantages and disadvantages of this matter. The majority of people believe that experiences are the best teacher. Join an internship program is one of the ways to get work experience before applying for a real job. There are some advantages relating to this matter. Firstly, an internship will allow us to learn from professionals. It is the chance to take lessons as much as we can because most companies or organisations also know that the purpose of unpaid work is to experience real job life. Secondly, when the job really suits the career path that we want to continue, this may lead us to get an official job even when we have not graduated. For instance, if pupils perform well to take care of their responsibilities given by their leader, there is a chance that the leader will recommend the company to hire the student because of their good marks. Thus, this will give students great opportunities in their career journey. However, it cannot be overlooked that unpaid work also has some disadvantages. Not all organisations or companies have good management. Some of them may not respect internship students, they tend to look at undergraduates as a burden for their company because they need to teach them from the very beginning. This will give pupils bad experiences in work life because it does not suit their expectations. For example, at first, enlistees forapply apply an internship in the design field, but unfortunately, they are told to do some financial responsibility. Even when they are able to do the task, it is far from the subject that they applied for. Another reason, most internships do not give any money at all, consequently, admission must spend their own money to accommodate the internship. To conclude, internship or unpaid work have both advantages and disadvantages. Some experiences may give students good job opportunities, but some of them may not be as good as the admission thought.