Some people think that it is important to use leisure time for activities that improve the mind, others think that it is to rest the mind during leisure time. Discuss both view and your opinion.

Leisure time is known as the time left over from doing daily errands like homework and washing the dishes. Some people use that leftover time to improve their minds like studying a new language while some use it to take their mind off work like listening to music. I am going to discuss both sides of the fence and give my opinion on this situation. Using time on activities that improve the mind is a way of using the remaining time usefully. The time that is used can and will help you get better grades and GPA as you have time to review subjects you are bad at. For example, a student can receive bad grades but using the leisure time he had, he studied and reviewed the subjects he failed. He might not pass all of his exams but he had learnt something new. However, using your free time to relax is a good thing as well. This might sound counter-intuitive but it is true. For instance, a man named Zawadzki did some research and did some experiments before coming to the conclusion that “When people engage in leisure activity, they have lower stress levels, better mood, a lower heart rate and more psychological engagement — that means less boredom, which can help avoid unhealthy behaviours”. So that means that if a person relaxes in his free time, he will be less bored and that will lead to him avoiding unhealthy behaviours. In conclusion, there are strong arguments for each side but in my opinion, using your free time to relax is better than using them on getting better grades as mental health is better than an alphabet.