Some think that too much money has been spent looking after and repairing old buildings, so we should knock down old buildings and build modern ones instead. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

With the advent of industrialization, there has been a massive change in the base sector. Nowadays, some individuals believe that the government has been spending a lot of financial resources on modifying ancient properties, rather than repairing them they should build new ones. However, others, including myself, are completely against the above viewpoint. In this,essay we are going to look at both sides of the coin. To begin, the majority of the crowd is aligned towards the idea of knocking down the old buildings and building new ones. One of the most prominent factors behind this is not only the rise in ballpark figures of quality infrastructure but also an accretion in innovation, which will help nations to stay ahead of the curve as compared to others. As a result, modern infrastructure will attract foreign economies, which will eventually lead to a rise in the economy. Additionally, with innovation, building new skyscrapers will increase the employment of labourers. As a result, the Unemployment rate will decline drastically, which is paramount for society's well-being. For example, a study has been conducted by YALE university, to find the eminent reasons behind the drastic decline in the unemployment rate, of 2000 labourers, who were unemployed due to a lack of skills, in 2011. The results were flabbergasted as the study outlined that all the unskilled people were employed in the construction business. Hence, it is sometimes mandatory to knock down old buildings and build new ones. Paradoxically, on the other hand, most of the time, the above action could lead to some severe outcomes as this will lead ancient architecture to extension, which could be considered as a colossal loss of artistic and historical values of a nation. Furthermore, building new buildings, instead of them repairing, will require more financial resources. Consequently, the budget of other imperative sectors such as defence and tech will be cut down and this could lead to some detrimental results. For instance, China has been investing more in the infrastructure sector as compared to others, which is the major reason for the lack of technological advancements in China. Thus, preserving ancient buildings is far more crucial; they hold the artistic as well as cultural values of a nation’s history. In a nutshell, some critics might argue that replacing old buildings is way more important as it will lead to an increase in innovation. However, I completely disagree with the above views as I believe old buildings hold information about the history of a nation.