Nowadays, many schools find it profitable to sell unhealthy food and sugary drinks to students during lunch breaks. Is this a positive or negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

There is a tendency, nowadays, that due to food accessibility in developed countries, students have more eating options in schools. Thus, many places serve unhealthy food for their students during lunch breaks. I think this is absolutely unacceptable and should be banned. That is, in the forthcoming paragraphs, I will elaborate on the main negative problems related to the issue. To begin with, due to a lack of experience, youngsters are not aware enough, hence, they usually do not worry about the consequences related to bad eating patterns. However, if students did not stop eating unhealthy food during lunch breaks they would face serious health challenges in the future. That's why it is vitally important to regulate and control the quality of serving food as well as not allow sugary drinks and fast food to be sold in schools. For example, it is known that American students tend to have more problems with weight compared to Europeans; this happens because of easier access to fast food in schools and other places. In addition, by selling unhealthy food and sugary drinks in educational places people make it normal to encourage pupils to eat such food. Consequently, students would not even know that unhealthy food is literally bad for them. Hence, they are at risk to take it as a routine and eat this food every day. For instance, I used to eat junk food at my university just because it was cheaper than normal. As a result of this, I got used to eating fast food and could not even think about other options.  In conclusion, I would say that serving junk food in school has undoubtedly negative developments. Real health problems are possible consequences of such unhealthy food, whereas taking it as an eating routine would only make the situation worse.