Newspaper have an enormous influence on peoples opinion and ideas . Do you think it is a positive or negative situation?

People rely on newspapers to get the latest information about economics, politics, business, sports, education etc, and in the process get influenced by the content read. From my personal standpoint, I believe that it has the power to create, both, a beneficial and a negative effects in society and it lies in the hands of the reader to be a good judge of the material provided by media. On a positive note, the Newspaper is considered the most authentic and reliable source of knowledge compared to other media, to know about the happening from all over the world. Newspaper is always considered the watchdog of democracy, rightly so, as they closely monitor the activities of political parties and announce to the world, both, their right and wrong doings thereby acting as a powerful public opinion influencer. For instance, during election time, people rely a lot on the report provided by newspapers to cast their votes to decide the ruling government. The newspaper also has some negative aspects as media tends to be controlled by a certain communities or parties and many times the news can be biased, thereby,creating hatred and disunity among community members. In India, this is particularly seen to cause riots among different religious groups owing to fake news, propagated through selective non-ethical local newspapers. To conclude, the Newspaper is a strong influencer with numerous benefits, however, people should be able to discriminate against fake news. It is also important that readers rely on the newspaper that has established itself for its integrity.