There is a lot of pressure on young people today to succeed academically. As a result, some people believe that non-academic subjects, such as physical education and cookery, should be removed from the school syllabus so that children can concentrate on academic work. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays youth people feel more pressure related to their future academic success. This led to a widespread opinion that non-academic subjects should be taken away from the school curriculum so children to focus on their main lessons. From my point of view, I fully disagree with deleting these subjects as they are essential for the general fitness of children and getting everyday skills. One evident drawback of stopping teaching PE is that children would be less fit. Although this measure saves time for children and makes it possible to focus more on the main lessons, physical exercises are necessary for children to grow healthy. For instance, children who have regularly missed PE classes tend to come across problems related to backbone and heart more than those who have always taken part in those classes. Being physically active also increases the productivity of a person, in other words doing more exercises allows pupils to study more effectively than avoiding them. As a result, although at the moment pupils would have development in their education level, in the long term this measure would cause a lot of damage to the health and productivity. Another point for the secondary subjects remaining in the curriculum is that they give children useful life skills. Apart from formal, education there are also everyday skills that children should have in the arsenal before graduation from school. Running fast or being able to prepare food when the parents are absent, for instance, are important for becoming an autonomic person and being able to deal with everyday difficulties. Evidently, having a school consisting of only academic subjects would lead to the adults having a lack of essential surviving skills, which is disastrous for every society. In conclusion, I do not consider cutting out all secondary subjects from the school syllabus as the right measure, as it has a lot of drawbacks related to the health and autonomy of future adults.