smoking is a major source of serious illness and death throughout the world today.In the interest of public health ,government should ban cigarettes and other tobacco products .Do you agree or disagree

It’s undeniable that smoking is detrimental to our health. It is argued that the government should be involved in taking measures against the consumption of cigarettes and other tobacco products. I do agree with this view to a certain extent. Rules and regulations should be set to control the consumers’ behaviours. Even though it cannot be banned totally, the government plays a major role to improve public health in this aspect. Studies have shown that smoking causes serious illness not only to smokers but also chain-smokers. It is apparent that the involvement of the government has a great impact on the number of people who smoke in a country. For instance, in developing countries, there is no strict rule on the minimum age to purchase cigarettes. As a result, even teenagers can easily try and smoke in public. On the other hand, in some developed countries, it is only allowed for persons aged above 18 to legally purchase tobacco-related products. Consequently, that would deter youngsters from smoking at an early age. There might be some illegal activities such as smuggling if the public is prohibited from smoking completely. Therefore, instead, the government can take actions to reduce consumption such as imposing taxes on the consumption of such products that have bad impacts on public health. For example, Singapore imposes high taxes on the import of cigarettes and other alcoholic beverages. It is less likely for the public to buy more expensive products. Moreover, in some crowded areas, fines should be imposed for smoking. Or, some spaces should be reserved for smoking to reduce the impact on secondhand smokers. In these ways, the government can enhance public health. In conclusion, it is crucial for governments to set rules and regulations to reduce the consumption of cigarettes as smoking has devastating effects on public health instead of banning such products.