People believe the over-use of smartphones are causing many problems in our lives, and it should be regulated. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

Ever since the accelerated development of human civilization, perpetual scientific discoveries of nature have accompanied mankind all along the journey. With the invention of a variety of electronic devices, including smartphones, people have been able to live a more convenient and more sophisticated life. However, problems like frauds, cyberbully, and profanity brought by them have aroused public attention and urge to regulate these phenomena. Over-use of smartphones, in my view, should be regulated. Smartphones, in the first place, is still in its initial stage compared with long history of human civilization. When new products and gadgets are invented, we should be cautious about its potential harms. For smartphone, many applications contained in it are aimed to make people, especially children and teenagers, get addicted. The algorithm and big data can capture users’ personal interests and therefore constantly show them the contents they prefer, during which their brains will continuously produce dopamine to stimulate their nerves. In the long run, people can waste substantial amount of time and energy on the smartphones instead of shifting their attention to the real world, and they may even resort to those kind of desires and stimulation in real life, leading to crimes and illegal activities. Additionally, the regulation and law related to smartphone as well as its related secondary products are insufficient. That’s why numerous college students every year are cheated by frauds online, which make them suffer both financially and psychologically. That’s why many illegal websites expose pornography and profanity to children in order to make profits. That’s why many video game producers encourage players to purchase unreasonable expensive virtual products. All these boil down to the lack of regulation, management, and proper guidance by the government and related agencies because for many children and the younger generation, their cognitive abilities have been fully developed, they do not know how to discern the accurate information they need. As a consequence, they can be mesmerized by a sea of information on their smart phones. Thus, I believe that government should play its role in establishing transparent and complete regulations and laws to make the contents on the smartphone legal and appropriate, and to set time limits on the use by teenagers and children on playing video games.