Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organisation. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

People these days tend to be self-employed instead of working for a company. In this essay, I will go through the reasons and some drawbacks of this phenomenon. To begin with, two main factors are the cause of this consequence. First of all, being a freelancer means employee don't have a restricted working time, which allows them to be more flexible since they can manage their own time. As a result, people can benefit from it, since they can adjust their time and spare out more hours to spend with their families and friends. For example, if a person who is in a long distance relationship, he or she can adjust its working hours to the same time zone as its partner is in, therefore they can spend more time together. Secondly, employee might be more productive due to the absence of supervisors, who often put pressure on them. However, self-employed also has demerits. First, they are not garanteed to have a steady income compared with people being employed in a organisation. Moreover, being your own boss require self-discipline, only if you can control yourself, then you can have the freedom to achieve your goals. For example, someone who always procrastinate things, how are they supposed to meet the deadline without any superviors supervisor pushing them? In conclusion, it undenial that the population of working for oneself rather than for company have increased, however, it is not easy as they thought due to the risk of getting unstable salaries and the requirement of self- dicipline. Therefore, I think people should think twice before making this decision.