Some people argue that globalisation has been a great benefit to people around the world, while others believe that it is the cause of many of the problems we see today. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience. Write at least 250 words.

During the last decades, the phenomenon called globalisation influenced our society's development. Some people think that this phenomenon has brought several benefits to many individuals, whilst others argue that it is the origin of many problems we have to face today. I strongly agree with the former opinion. In this essay I will discuss both views and I will also provide some examples. On the one hand, globalisation played a fundamental role in humankind. Many scientists talked about it as something inevitable that affected people's lives in several ways. Firstly, thanks to the global spread of information, travel and food, almost every country has experienced growth, because every one of them was open to more people, not only its own citizens. For instance, during the past century, tourism was dramatically less developed and international flights were not popular, but after globalisation's effect, a lot of individuals can define themselves as citizens of the world, by visiting very distant places every year. Secondly, globalisation allowed us to know more. Thanks to the incredible quality of communication reached by many governments and media, nowadays is possible to be informed about what happens in the other part of the world in less than a few hours. For example, we constantly know what is happening during wars and get information about new conflicts, during previous international conflicts this was considered impossible, and anyone wasn't kept informed about it. On the other hand, globalisation destroyed many local traditions. In a world where individuals are constantly kept updated by media, everyone eats McDonald's and wears the most popular brands' t-shirts, and old cultures are disappearing. This global phenomenon created a new society with new standards, very similar in every part of the world, thus, many people are losing their interest in old and local cultures. As an example of it, in Italy many dialects are disappearing due to the fact that only old people still know them. To conclude, despite globalisation diminishing the interest towards local cultures, I completely agree that it brought many advantages to society and its individuals, like better communication systems and more opportunities for discovering new places. We have to live with this global culture, so we have to understand how many benefits can bring to our lives.