Some parents believe that reading books for entertainment is a waste of time for children and they think that their children should read only read serious educational books. What is your opinion?

Reading is one of the most important skills humans can acquire. Most of us learn how to read very early in life and use this ability on daily basis. We can read for educational purposes or for fun. Some parents believe that their children should only read educational books and avoid wasting time on other subjects. I highly disagree with this opinion as reading can be very entertaining and informative regardless of the topic of the book. No one disagrees with the point that says that academic books are beneficial. However, books that are intended to be read for fun can also be as useful and informative. Novels, for example, can stimulate the imagination and the thought process of the reader. There are so many genres that can suit almost every taste. Many authors get to be rich and internationally recognised just for writing such books. Other examples of reading materials that are not intended to be educational are magazines and newspapers. We read these types of materials to learn about news and happenings that take place throughout the world. Although children don't usually read newspapers, there are quite a few magazines that target audience of children with topics that attract them. It can be a great way of entertainment for a child to go through such magazines, much better than wasting time on smartphones or video games if you ask me. One more benefit of reading non-educational books is improving other language skills. Children can learn how to write better essays and articles for their school tasks for example. They can also expand their vocabulary regarding many subjects. Learning about new things and cultures is furthermore achieved through non-academic readings. In conclusion, reading is one of the most important skills that we learn, if not the most important of them all. We can use it to acquire knowledge, share news or merely for entertainment purposes. In my personal opinion, it should never be limited to educational purposes alone.