The average standard of people's health is likely to be lower in the future than it is now. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It has been argued that, on average, people are likely to be less healthy in the future than they are now. The main reasons for this negative outlook are environmental pollution, poor diet, and the population's sedentary lifestyle. Despite the gravity of these problems, I believe that research and technological developments can help us turn the tide. In recent years, more efforts have been made to address environmental problems that are affecting people's health. Many industries are becoming cleaner thanks to technological breakthroughs and more stringent regulations. Notably, renewable energy and electric engines are gradually replacing the widespread use of fossil fuels, which is one of the main sources of pollution in urban areas. Efforts are also being undertaken to prevent further soil and water pollution as well. These reasons make me believe that environmental pollution can be curbed. Regarding damaging lifestyles, research helps people better understand what affects their health and well-being. It is evident that people want to stay healthy and fit for longer, and many are exerting themselves to achieve this. Indeed, an increasing number of people are exercising after a long day at the office and choosing organic and nutritious food options. It is reasonable to anticipate that others will follow suit and adopt these helpful habits in the years to come. Over the last century, life expectancy has risen all over the world. This is mainly a result of medical advances and increased access to medicine and vaccinations, which have outweighed all of the negative effects. So far, there is nothing that suggests that a reversal of this trend will occur. To conclude, it is not a given that future generations will be healthier. However, current efforts to tackle global environmental problems, poor nutrition, and lack of physical activity among individuals make me hopeful that a better outcome for our children is within reach.