Some of the methods used in advertising are unethical and unacceptable in today’s society. Do you agree or disagree with this view? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience or knowledge.

The world that we live in today is dominated by advertising. Advertisements are on television, on the World Wide Web, on the street and even on our mobile phones. I believe that many of the strategies used to sell a product or service are very annoying as they disturb the privacy of an individual as well as influence people to purchase unwanted products. To begin with, the fact that individuals cannot escape from advertising is a significant cause for complaint. Constant images and signs wherever we look can be very intrusive and irritating at times. Take for example advertising on the mobile phone. With the latest technology mobile companies are now able to send advertising messages via SMS to consumers' phones whenever they choose. Although we expect advertisements in numerous situations, it now seems that there are very few places people can actually avoid them. A further aspect of advertising that is unethical is the way that it encourages people to buy products they may not need or cannot afford. Children and young people in particular are influenced by advertisements showing the latest toys, clothing or music and this can put enormous pressure on parents to buy these products. In addition, the advertising of tobacco products and alcohol has long been a controversial issue, but cigarette advertisements have only recently been banned in many countries. It is quite possible that alcohol advertisements encourage excessive consumption and underage drinking, yet restrictions have not been placed on this type of advertising in the same way as smoking.  In conclusion, it is certainly true to say that advertising is an everyday feature of people's lives. Individuals are constantly being disturbed and encouraged to buy products or services that might be too expensive, unnecessary or even unhealthy. Hence, the aspects of advertising do appear to be morally wrong and should not be acceptable in today's society.