Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? In twenty years there will be fewer cars in use than there are today. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

There is no doubt that cars are one of the most frequent transportation means, and many people use them for their daily commutes. However, some experts predict that they will be replaced in the near future. I am among those who believe that the number of cars in use will decrease, and in the following, I will elaborate on the reasons why. First, according to statistics, our natural resources, such as oil and gas, will decrease sharply over the next two decades, and the scarcity of these materials will dramatically increase the price of such chemicals. Donald et al. indicate in a recently published paper that the price of one litre of gasoline in Los Angeles, California, will exceed 200 dollars in less than ten years. Evidently, the majority of people cannot afford such high prices and must instead rely on public transportation. With fewer people who can fuel their vehicles, their market demand will plummet, and many car manufacturers will fail and close their production lines. To make a long story short, a decline in the number of daily usages is inevitable according to many predictions related to fuel prices. Second, many may argue that technological revolutions and green fuels may change the game and the paradigm. The leading candidate is hydrogen fuel. Researchers are working hard on Li-ion batteries and solid oxide fuel cells to replace current engines. The new ones, instead, consume hydrogen and produce water as the byproduct of combustion. It has been proven that these two novel engines are not qualified substitutes, as they may necessitate a revolution in many infrastructures, such as gas stations. Charging the new batteries requires that gas stations be completely replaced with some electricity charging ones. Considering the number of stations and the time- and cost-intensive process of constructing the required structures, it appears that it does not make sense. Therefore, there are significant obstacles to developing such advanced automobiles, and many nations, including developing countries, will be unable to promote the adoption of these state-of-the-art automobiles. To summarize, I concur that automobiles will not be as widespread as they are today. The high prices of non-renewable resources, on the one hand, and the financial difficulties that many countries may encounter while constructing necessary infrastructure, on the other hand, will prevent their utilization. I can envision clearly the day when public transportation predominates and private car ownership will be obsolete.