Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

These days, some people tend to choose alternative remedies to cure their illnesses rather than visiting medical centers. Although they can save money to buy a lot of medicines in the hospital, this trend can make their unhealthy conditions worse. This essay discusses both views of people not getting traditional health treatments. When it comes to conventional treatments, these methods do not require people to spend vast on medical fees. Therefore, lower-income people can cure a disease with a smaller amount of money through this type of therapy. This is because many alternative treatments rely on the human immune system to heal naturally from injuries or diseases. For instance, if someone is scratched by sharp tools or animal claws, one type of alternative treatment is their saliva to disinfect the injury. There is no cost for applying to their injuries. Furthermore, developing countries usually have fewer medical services than developed countries. Many individuals use traditional medical treatments to cure medical problems as soon as possible. However, if they do not visit a medical center, they are likely to suffer from life-threatening diseases such as cancer, pneumonia, influenza, etc. Modern healthcare technologies are advanced when it comes to getting rid of chronic diseases and hazardous bacteria. If patients are only treated with alternative medicine without receiving treatment at a hospital, it is nearly impossible to contain accurate treatment. For example, if some asthmatic patients do not use inhalants and rely solely on alternative medicine, their condition will worsen. This is because alternative medication for asthma rather than modern medicines does not help them. In conclusion, for the aforementioned reasons, individuals should consult a doctor to cure chronic diseases and critical illnesses. Even though alternative remedies can reduce the cost of treatment and avoid the problem of lack the access to a medical center, they can cost people their lives and make their illnesses worse.