Nowadays, children watch a lot of TV and play video games. However, some think that these activities are not beneficial for a child’s mental health. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

New technologies have completely changed our way of living. The introduction of equipment such as televisions, mobile phones and video games has a daily impact on our health. Furthermore, people are becoming more addicted to this way of life,especially children. More and less this new trend is not beneficial for the mental health of a child. Let me illustrate some points below to show the adverse effect. Firstly, with these new products in our life, our youngsters have a trend to neglect all other things around and to concentrate only on video games or mobile phones. Our young ones do not socialise with their surroundings. Communication between parents and children has decreased drastically. Even during dinner time, youngsters will prefer to have their meals in front of the television watch movies or in their room playing games on their mobile rather than sitting and chatting with their parents. Another adverse effect is that our youngsters give more interest in these games rather than in their education. Very often homework or assignments are not done properly, or worst not done at all as they have spent all their time playing games or chatting on social networks. It has also been proven that our new generation sleeps less and there is a lack of concentration, resulting in a decrease in their performance while studying. Thus at the end of their studies, exam results will not be that favourable. In conclusion, it is the duty of parents to have a proper discipline of children. Moreover, parents should think twice before giving these game consoles to their children. Before ending, I must say that the way a child reacts in society reflects the way he or she has been raised by his parents, so parents must be very cautious about the hazards of these new technologies.