Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say this information may be relevant and useful. Others disagree. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Companies request the personal details of the applicants who apply for jobs in their organization. They would want to know their marital status, and interests. Few people believe that collecting this data will have some benefits whereas others think that one should never ask for personal details. From my perspective, companies will be able to assess the candidates to an extent with the given data. On the one hand, the organization’s main goal is to find the right talent who is suitable for the requirement. Due to the increased unemployment rates in recent years, there is high competition. For one job thousands of job seekers apply and companies need some criteria to pick up the best candidates. For example, apart from qualifications marketing jobs require a lot of travelling a person with an interest in travelling and exploring new places will enjoy the work,unlike others who get bored of moving from one place to another. So, any additional information about the applicant would help the recruiter choose the get the best resource On the other hand, many recommend not posting personal data on the job portal as there are chances that data can be compromised. People might apply for many jobs online, if their data is misused by any online hackers they might land in trouble. For example, many matrimonial sites and dating applications fetch data from job portals, and send customized messages to people who are single. Applicants feel inconvenienced by unwanted advertisements and calls and they might feel insecure is sharing any personal details. Thus, people will be cautious in sharing personal information. In conclusion, although there is a chance of personal data compromise many employers will have the employers feasibility to choose the right talent with the data given by the job seekers