Nowadays, children watch a lot of TV and play video games. However, some think that these activities are not beneficial for a child’s mental health. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Habits of children shape their future. As more and more kids are prone to television and playing video games, many people believe that it will affect their mental health. This essay will discuss to what extent watching TV and playing video games is harmful to kids and how spending some of their leisure time indulging in such activities is useful as well. Firstly, we need to understand that a child's growth depends on various factors. There should be a balance of both study time and playtime. Therefore, even if children spend time playing games and watching shows, it does not always mean that it is bad for their health. Many of the games and programmes available these days help develop children's minds and boost their ability to learn and perform well in their studies. For example: playing quizzes, watching the discovery Channel will help them grow better and provide knowledge about wildlife and improve their IQ. On the other hand, addiction to anything is bad. As long as free time is utilised better it is fine, but if a child is addicted to such habits, then it will definitely affect them in an adverse manner. Spending more and more time in front of the television will make them dull and inactive. They will lose interest in outdoor sports and will become unhealthy. Moreover, it can also affect their eyesight. Many games available in the package are adult games which could lead youngsters in a negative direction. Therefore, I would say that watching a lot of television and spending time playing video games is harmful as long as it is not monitored by parents. There should be adequate time devoted to study and leisure and balance should be maintained so that a child is able to enjoy and learn at the same time.