Nowadays, international tourism is the biggest industry in the world. Unfortunately, international tourism creates tension rather than understanding between people from different cultures. To what extent do you agree or disagree

As air transport facilitates vital connectivity around the world, international tourism has become the most lucrative market. However, there are many debates that the industry polarizes people of different cultures. I disagree with this notion because international tourism, in my opinion, substantially promotes cultural exchange. To begin with, some people argue that tourism is one of the main reasons causing friction between locals and visitors. The burgeoning industry develops radically, from which a period of chaos and infringements ensue. Rome, for example, is renowned for its scenic wonders but its infamous petty crimes such as pickpocketing or robbery have become an emerging concern among travelers. Not only Venice but most tourist attractions also are forced into a similar impasse since the police personnel is not enough to control crime rates due to the enormous number of tourists. In the long run, it may leave a bad impression on the natives to the visitors. On the other hand, I believe that international tourism is a remarkable way to develop understanding between cultures. The fundamentals of culture are usually expressed through traditional food and music that have to be experienced first -hand in the original country or region. To give an example, the foreign traveler can perceive a special charm in Vietnamese culture by listening to the imperial music in Hue, a masterpiece of intangible heritage by UNESCO, which beautifully recreate the feudal era of Vietnam. Furthermore, many overseas visitors want to visit the city for the extraordinary, balanced taste of spicy, salty, and umami in “Bun bo Hue” which comes from the authentic Hue’s fermented shrimp paste. In other words, the flavorful taste of Bun bo Hue with delightful live imperial court music is an unrivaled experience of culture that people cannot live vicariously by reading books or watching Youtube. In conclusion, international tourism has a major contribution to fostering meaningful cultural exchange despite several security drawbacks. In my opinion, the authorities of tourist attractions can develop their security by engaging artificial intelligence in public cameras in which they can detect and prevent crimes