Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of High School programmes (for example working for a charity, improving the neighborhood or teaching sports to younger children). To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is the perception of some people that it should be a requirement for high school students to participate in any social work without pay. Community work is an integral part of flourished societies. I accept that there are clear benefits of this public service but I believe that it is too early for teenagers to perform such tasks. On the one hand, helping others who are in need has a plethora of constructive outcomes. Firstly, it is very beneficial for the welfare of society because if juveniles engage themselves in the well-being of others then it will motivate many adults to follow them which will lead to a healthy community. Secondly, a sense of responsibility will be created in youngsters at a very early age in this way they could become civilized members of a country for example, in different schools in Pakistan, students contribute themselves in organizing different stalls to raise money for orphanages and many select this as an occupation and help society in broader ways. In short, it is necessary for the betterment of humans. On the other hand, there are a few drawbacks to any community service program for teenagers. Fundamentally, it is the phase of life in which pupils need to have more focus on their studies instead of extra-curricular activities as their future depends on their performance in the whole academic year and it is a very critical time for their studies. Moreover, free welfare work can cause low enthusiasm in younger minds, if they are not getting any monetary payments in return then they will get bored from their voluntary jobs very quickly. For instance, many students do not perform good in such kinds of assignments in Government schools of Lahore and get a low grades in them. In conclusion, despite the advantages of voluntary jobs, in my opinion, there is good ground for rejecting the view due to its compulsion at the early age of students.