These days, food travels long distances before reaching consumers, and it is therefore believed that consuming locally grown food would bring about a number of economic and environmental benefits. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages ?

A healthy diet is of paramount importance for every individual to live a disease-free lifestyle. Unfortunately, foodstuff nowadays is transported from far areas due to the unavailability of homegrown food. Some people believe that cultivation in local farms is eco-friendly and has a variety of financial merits. This essay will describe the positive sides of regionally grown edibles and will elaborate upon the side effects of imported eatable items. On the one hand, growing our own food possesses several advantages both economically and environmentally. To begin with, locally sowed crops are more reasonable. In other words, the plantation of vegetables and fruits on a local basis tends to be inexpensive and thus saves a significant amount of money. Secondly, to most of the population, the freshness of items matters a lot and they prefer to produce their own food locally which is fresh and healthy. Finally, using our own soil to produce edibles has a very positive impact on the environment. It keeps the climate clean, and pleasant and decreases the greenhouse effect. Moreover, this in turn leads to a fall in natural disasters such as heavy rain and floods. On the other hand, the cultivation of local food has a few demerits. Therefore, extra time is required to take care of the production. The manpower required to fulfil this task is another side effect. To add on, the plantation of crops also results in the attraction of insects and bugs to the area which leads to different diseases like malaria etc. Furthermore, land requirements add more to the negative sides, for a lot of extra space is needed for locally grown crops. To illustrate this, heavily populated areas can not afford to grow their own food due to the shortage of extra land. In conclusion, edible items can be imported from outside. Nevertheless, in my opinion, growing own food on a local basis is far more beneficial to the population. This seems to sound financial, eco-friendly and healthy as well.