Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is argued that, in tertiary education, students should be oriented towards subjects that teach future skills, while others believe that it is in the best interest of the students to study the subjects they are interested in. Although restricting students to enrol only in science- and technology-related majors would enable them to be well-prepared for future jobs, I believe that giving them the freedom to select any courses they are passionate about would be more practical as it allows them to explore and learn about the subjects effectively. Some people think that it is beneficial when students are enrolled in courses that teach them future-ready skills because doing so can help them prepare for their employment. It is predicted that there will be a huge demand for labour forces that are fully skilled in science and technology as the age of artificial intelligence is developing rapidly. That is why many countries have implemented numerous policies to attract students to study in such fields. For example, many universities in Australia have been offering scholarships to both undergraduate and graduate students who select STEM as their major; not only this, those who graduated have also been highly valued and received offers to a permanent migration pathway. However, I think that choosing a major is a matter of individuals, and limiting them to a small number of courses would hinder their ability to perform at their best. It is believed that tertiary students should be given the freedom to choose whatever majors they wish to pursue due to the fact that they will be able to achieve anything they set their mind on. Passion and commitment have significant roles in pushing individuals to attain such goals, most specifically their dream jobs. For instance, contrary to those pursuing STEM majors, Michelle Obama, a former and well-respected US first lady, chose law and managed to build her career successfully. Her primary goal, which is to help African people free from being oppressed, pushes her to pursue such a degree; and as a consequence, she turned out to become one of the most influential people in the world. Thus, I believe that it is more important to give people the freedom to choose any subject that interests them so that they can achieve their full potential in both their academic and professional lives. In conclusion, although some people believe that it is better to set specific courses for tertiary students to choose from since it will get them ready for their future work, I think it is more crucial that they are given the freedom to study anything they are fascinated about because by pursuing what is interesting to them would allow them to achieve their full potentials.