Some people say that young people learn useful skills by playing electronic and computer games. Others say that young people who play electronic and computer games are wasting their time. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Electronic and computer games are a rage, especially among young people. Some people argue that playing such games is beneficial for youngsters in learning useful skills, while others think it leads to a waste of time. In this write-up, I will discuss both views and opine on why I feel one should give these games a chance. The gaming universe has evolved a lot in the past 15-20 years. There is an array of different games on various platforms to choose from. Nowadays, a lot of attention is paid to their storylines, characters, music and gameplay. Perhaps the gaming experience now is as involved as cinema. Therefore, it can not only stimulate the imagination of a teenage mind but also acts as a stress buster. Kids easily handle a plethora of apps on mobiles or computers because they have become tech-savvy thanks to their exposure to gaming. The industry also provides plenty of employment opportunities to players, developers, and technicians among others. With the emergence of technologies like Virtual,Reality the numbers are only going to go up so there is an added incentive for gamers. That being said, there is a flip side to this discussion, which involves mainly the negative effects of excessive gaming and malpractices in the gaming industry. It is observed that social skills are lacking among children who are on mobiles or computers all the time. Many have weak eyesight due to prolonged exposure to bright screens. Many researchers have propounded that violent games have a debilitating effect on a child's mind. The kids have also been known to lose focus on their studies and become lazy. The depiction of female characters in some of the games is very questionable and hence it affects the perception of an impressionable tender mind. In my opinion, parents have to keep a close watch on the kind of content their kids are consuming and allow them to enjoy games for a limited time. To conclude, as long as we can control it from becoming an addiction, gaming is all right.