In many countries, the proportion of older people is steadily increasing Does this trend have more positive or negative effects on the society?

In recent years, there is a growing trend of an ageing population, raising the crowd's concerns about the potential social impacts of the older population. Some people regard the elder as valuable assets to the community, providing critical insights to pass through to the next generation. However, others believe that the more older people in the world, the more economic burden on society to cover their living expenses. Despite that both arguments are reasonable, I am in favour of the latter view. This essay will demonstrate the rationale from both perspectives and provide my own opinion with supporting arguments. On the one hand, the elder group is admittedly insightful. With more than thirty years of sophisticated experience, they have an in-depth understanding of industry secrets as well as other soft skills such as negotiation, leadership, and cooperation. Not only will the young generation work under the supervision of these industry veterans, but also can they learn valuable lessons from them. Therefore, steady growth in the proportion of the older community is not necessarily something negative. On the other hand, an increasingly older population also has negative impacts on society. First of all, the ageing community is retiring from work, indicating that the elder will be dependent on pensions to fund their daily life. Furthermore, there will be a shortage of labour force to sustain economic growth. Some countries like Japan, have already been struggling with their ageing labourers. Modern Japanese are even encouraged by their government to give birth to more babies, in an attempt to save the nation from a working-force shortage. To sum up, while older folk enlighten us with their abundant experience, they take more resources than they contribute. As a result, the demerits of an aged community far outweigh its merits.