Shops are selling more of imported food items. Some people think that they should sell local food rather than imported items. What extent do you agree or disagree.

Nowadays, markets are selling more food from different countries. While I agree that shops ought to sell local food, I believe that they should sell imported food rather than local ones. On the one hand, there are some reasons why markets should sell local food items. First, many residents are more familiar with productions in their area. For instance, in Vietnam people prefer pho and bun cha, which are the traditional meals of Vietnam. Some people have lived in the area for a long time, which makes them prefer their local cuisine to imported food. Furthermore, local foods are much cheaper and easier for shops to buy. If they use food items from local areas, they can maximize profits by reducing the expenditure on transportation, which accounts for a high proportion of the total costs. On the other hand, markets should import more kinds of food items from different places to gain a competitive edge. Firstly, many people love new tastes from various kinds of cuisine in the world. Consequently, they will try new items whenever the market has a new kind of food, which can make the most of their goods. For example, people in Vietnam prefer food from different countries so when supermarkets introduce a kind of snack from Japan, many of them buy and try it. Another reason is that imported food help supermarkets identify the favourite taste of local people. Shops can make an investment in favourite products by analyzing best-seller items. As a result, this information brings about suitable choices for markets to have in the future, which help them achieve high revenue. In conclusion, it is certainly true that markets should sell local food products, but it seems to me that they should prefer selling imported items.