The world's most urgent problem is caused by overpopulation. Do you agree or disagree?

Some people argue that plenty of pressing global issues are attributed to a population explosion. Personally, I totally agree with this viewpoint for some reasons. To begin with, overpopulation has led to a severe lack of accommodation for a large number of residents, especially for those living in highly dense areas. Consequently, those people may take the risk of constructing illegal houses on places such as riverbanks or the top of the hill which are very dangerous for them. Another social problem related to the overpopulation phenomenon is unemployment. Since the number of available jobs is shrinking continuously, a majority of citizens won’t be able to find decent jobs, even those who have high university degrees. Consequently, so as to earn a living, those unemployed people are willing to commit crimes which threaten the safety of the community. Furthermore, overpopulation also results in several problems which are associated with the living environment. Firstly, the level of pollution will increase dramatically due to contaminants released by the massive number of transportation users or industrial areas. For instance, over-using vehicles burning fossil fuel, discharging toxic waste into the water, and implementing chemical fertilizers in agriculture are some typical activities that deteriorate the environment seriously. Secondly, natural habitats will be destroyed remarkably. More specifically, many forests will be cut down to make way for new hospitals, schools, and accommodations as long as there are more dwellers. As a result, some endangered species would be on the brink of extinction if there is no home for them. In conclusion, overpopulation causes a lot of severe issues in terms of both social and natural ones, including unauthorized accommodations, unemployment, pollution and loss of natural surroundings. It is predicted that many governments will apply family planning on a larger scale to slow down the speed of the rising population.