In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Transportation is a significant sector for all countries. Although some people believe that governments should spend money on railroads to provide new fast intercity trains rather than existing public transport, others governments should prioritize funding for public transit over railways. I am inclined to believe that funding for railways should be increased. Firstly, in some undeveloped countries, the government cannot supply new transit due to overpricing. They prefer upgrading available public transport instead of constructing new railway lines because it is likely to be more economical. That means funding for transportation can be used for some enhancements such as increasing the number of buses, raising the capacity of buses or reducing the cost of transportation. On the other hand, fast trains provide better access to other cities for passengers where some public transport cannot reach. In the other words, the most beneficial feature of railways is facilitating transport. Moreover, it would save people valuable time every day. For instance, someone due to their career situation is forced to go to another city each day, so fast trains would be a good choice for them. If the government construct railways, the community may turn to trains or the metro. Thus, society will be satisfied. To conclude, I believe funding for railroads over public transit should be an authority priority because railway lines provide better shipment. Furthermore, it is predictable that the number of countries which think spending money constructing new railroads rather than improving existing public transport will increase over time.