Some people believe that the only purpose for anyone to learn a second language is to travel or work abroad, Others argue that this is not only purpose why someone needs to learn a second language.

Nowadays, the ability to communicate in a foreign language is a valuable asset for people from all walks of life to function effectively in a globalised world. While many choose to study an additional language for occupational and recreational purposes, others do so with different aspirations. This essay discusses a range of reasons why second language learners choose to advance their linguistic proficiency. On the other hand, it is without a doubt that some people learn a foreign language solely because of professional and travelling needs in other countries. This is due to the fact that more companies are expanding their business to every corner of the world. This means that employers look for employees, who can speak a language other than their mother tongue. Additionally, international tourism has been promoted by many governments so being able to speak multiple languages can help people enjoy life in this respect. On the other hand, there are other reasons for learning an alternative language. First, knowing another language can heil enrich cultural understanding as well as literary appreciation. Second, a number of non-native English speakers prepare for English proficiency exams for educational purposes. To conclude, while foreign language skills are crucial for business and travel overseas, it is undeniable that other motivations also exist namely intellectual pleasure, education, and relationships. Different people have different reasons which are all valid in their own judgment. No matter what the reasons are, it is indispensable to acquire additional language skills.