People born today can expect to live longer than people in previous generations. What are some of the positive and negative implications of this phenomenon?

Nowadays, the life expectancy of younger generations is live longer than their ancestors. This phenomenon has some merits and demerits for society. This essay will discuss both sides. On the one hand, considering the advantages, people will have a longer time to spend with their families and to achieve their occupational aims, which demand an enormous amount of time. Thanks to longer life expectancy, new generations will have chances for further education and to get married at an older age than their seniors. Therefore, the members of society will be more satisfied than former generations since they can have both successful careers and happy families in the same life. As a result, the number of happy people will be higher next generation than in previous generations. For example, the 100 years will not be the end for them. On the other hand, the more people live longer, the more increased number of older people in society. However, the longer people live, the rates of diseases among the elderly will rise significantly. Moreover, geriatric diseases can be painful for older people since they are getting more fragile daily. For instance, the more they live, the more pain they will suffer. In the terminal phases of geriatric diseases, patients might lose movement ability. Therefore, they need nurses and caretakers. Even though it is humiliating for many elderly. Thus, whether an improved lifetime is a positive implication or not, should be asked of seniors. To summarise, considering the more excellent life expectancy provides people with both happiness and misery at different stages of their lives, it should be their call to live longer or not.