Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting the usual doctor. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

The number of diseases and their patterns are rising day by day compared with the population and some debuts are also created about the treatment process. Common therapy is being replaced with other types of medicines and treatments. This essay intends to delve into the matter and opines it as a positive or negative development. However, I personally think that it is a negative development with some positive effects. To start with, different medicine and treatments have some positive outcomes which sometimes can improve the condition of patients. The usual doctor can be wrong, so a new type of diagnosis can detect the real problem as finding the real cause is the main part of treatment. Meditation is proven more successful to remove stress than medication, for instance. Besides, using the same medic for the long term may lose its effectiveness over diseases or viruses. On the contrary, changing treatment and medicine can be very detrimental to health most of the time, which may lose its control over the balance, as every medicine doesn't match everyone. The regular doctor may know about the patient's past disease record and also family conditions, so his/her treatment will be more life-saving as she/he comprehends the patient's causes of illness. Moreover, we tend to take medicine from the pharmacy depending on our knowledge which sometimes worsens the situation. For example, for frequent headaches, we consider it normal pain and just take a painkiller for treatment but the main cause might be a tumour in the brain, which might lead to a fatal consequence. To conclude, during an illness, we all become doctor and prescribe as we know but paying a visit to our familiar doctor may result in quick and effective relief. So, we should always stay with the decision of our regular doctor and for any special condition, we should consult another doctor.