Some people say that the best way to improve public health is by increasing the number of sports facilities. Others, however, say that this would have little effect on public health and that other measures are required Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

Some individuals argue that the most effective means of enhancing public health is by providing an increased number of sports establishments. Others are of the view that it will have a minute impact on general well-being and that other means are needed. This essay will argue that building more physical activity centres will enhance the masses' well-being, and also state why I believe that awareness of other aspects such as improved dieting, regular health screening and environmental sanitation are necessary. On the one hand, the availability of more sports facilities will lead to better health for the masses. This is because enacting more centres for sporting will encourage the culture of regular exercising, which will in turn help individuals to live a better life. Thus, obesity which is known to predispose people to various illnesses will be avoided, leading to a decrease in the mortality rate in the country. For example, when more gym centres are easily accessible, individuals in the country will be motivated to utilize its services. On the other hand, there are other means of contributing to the public well-being other than just the provision of more numbers of sports buildings. One major way of improving public fitness is by providing awareness or education on the importance of good dieting, regular health screening and environmental hygiene. The reason for this is that, the intake of a balanced diet, going for regular well-being check-up and environmental cleanliness, affects the totality of the individual health. As an adequate diet helps in boosting immunity, environmental sanitation eradicates breeding sites for disease vectors, while going for routine health visits allows for early detection and treatment of illnesses. Furthermore, I am also of the view that education in these areas mentioned above as it concerns health, will help in the prevention of illnesses. For example, the education of pregnant women on the importance of keeping their environment clean by clearing all stagnant water will destroy mosquito breeding sites has helped in reducing the maternal mortality rate in Nigeria. In conclusion, although the availability of more sporting centres will improve the well-being of the people, I am of the view that insight into the need for an adequate diet, good environmental hygiene and regular health screening should also be considered. Therefore, appropriate authorities should provide seminars and outreach to the masses on primary health prevention components.