Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organisation. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

In the modern world, there is tremendous growth in career opportunities for self-employed people or employees in the country. These days a lot of working individuals prefer to be self-employed rather than to work for any organization since they vouchsafe flexibility and the privileges of not having to be answerable to anyone. Inevitably, there are certain drawbacks of self-employment such as financial losses. Self-employment comes with an enormous number of merits. A working individual prefers to be self-employed than struggle under any peer pressure because it has the flexibility of attendance at the office. One can take a leave of absence from the endeavours as and when required without prior notice. They must take work-related decisions for which they are not liable to report to any superior authorities about their whereabouts. On the contrary, the same benefits are not enjoyed by any employee of an organization. For instance, A self-employed person decides to take a holiday without informing anyone. However, Self-employment has its own share of disadvantages. One must bear the fruits of loss if at all incurred during the course of work. A self-employed individual is solely responsible for the damage to the organization. Despite the losses, salaries to the employees are unavoidable. For example, the association decides to buy some shares and its price goes down. Losses are incurred by the institution. In conclusion, A portion of working people would choose to run their own company than work for any other company because they come with a lot of advantages such as flexibility and independence which sufficiently exceeds the disadvantages such as organizational loss.