Few people believe that health is a person's own responsibility while some others believe that governments are the ones who need to be held accountable for the public's balanced diet. This essay is going to explore more about the two statements.

Few people believe that good physical condition is a person's own responsibility while some others believe that governments are the ones who need to be held accountable for the public's balanced diet. This essay is going to explore more about the two statements. On the one hand, many people argue that governments indeed have their own roles in ensuring that citizens can live healthily because health is a basic human right. This is usually managed by the Ministry of Health by making guidelines about people ’s eating behaviours while following the World Health Organization's international policies. For instance, the Ministry of Health in Indonesia has made several recommendations about how many fibres, carbohydrates, proteins, sodium, water, and other sources of nutrients each person should consume daily. They also have educated the public to make sure they know about these suggestions so they can follow them in order to keep their physical state. On the other hand, lack of motivation has proven to be the stem of many illnesses. This is why some groups of people think that well-being is a person’s own duty. Many people find it hard to control their eating habits and they also do not have the need to change that. Consequently, they consume all these unhealthy and ultra-processed foods that are extremely high in calories and harmful to the body. For example, recent research conducted by the University of Indonesia about their students' consumption has shown that around 76% of them do not consume enough fibre and consume refined sugar excessively every day. To conclude, both views provide reasonable reasons. In order to maintain physical fitness, a person is the one who needs to live well while governments can influence it through policies and recommendations.